News Staff January 22, 2020

UK businesses with an interest in learning more about the Eastern European and Central Asian Network (EECAN) markets can sign up to attend this event, organised by the Department for International Trade (DIT) and in partnership with the British Chambers of Commerce in Turkey, to identify new export and investment opportunities in the region.

The Roadshow will be held from 28-31 January at various locations across the UK: OxfordCoventryManchester and London

Businesses can register at the individual event links above before January 27 to attend.

Her Majesty’s Trade Commissioner for Eastern Europe and Central Asia, Judith Slater, DIT’s team of experts along with businesses from the region will host workshops, panels and one-to-one meetings throughout the day, giving businesses the opportunity to meet with local buyers and learn about the markets open to them.

Total trade in goods and services between the UK and EECAN was £38.6 billion in the four quarters to the end of Q2 2019, an increase of 5.2% or £1.9 billion from the four quarters to the end of Q2 2018. Of EECAN, Turkey was the largest trading partner accounting for 43.8% of all trade.

Her Majesty’s Trade Commissioner for Eastern Europe and Central Asia, Judith Slater said:

The Eastern Europe and Central Asia region is home to 375 million people, with growing economies and markets which are demanding high quality innovation – from smart cities to healthcare.

I hope our roadshow will open the eyes of more UK businesses to the trading potential in this exciting part of the world.

Attendees will have the opportunity to meet with our business delegation and country experts, and take part in the UK-EECAN Trade Conference. I encourage all those with an interest in the region to come along and learn about the huge opportunities it offers.

Sectors including; smart cities, oil and gas, pharmaceuticals and healthcare are growing sectors in the region with a wealth of opportunity for exporters.

The 14 countries in EECAN are: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Mongolia, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.